LVW Invites Entries to Sixteenth Annual Flash Fiction Contest

Once again we are

holding a Flash Fiction Contest that awards

cash prizes and

charges NO entry fee.

Submissions will be accepted at the stroke

of midnight must be received by the stroke

of midnight on

August 15, 2020.

The first prize winner will receive $50, second prize $25, and third prize $15. There will also be three honorable mentions, which will not receive cash prizes but will be published with the other winners at LVW’s website. 

All six winning stories will be edited by a professional editor. The authors of all six winning entries will also receive a one-year complimentary membership in Ligonier Valley Writers. 


This year's topic is snakes and other reptiles. Let your imagination run wild in 1,000 words or less.  

We hope that we'll be able to hold readings of the winning stories at various venues during the Halloween season. Please check back here for the latest info once we are able to start holding in-person events again.

Damian Dressick, our celebrity judge last year, has agreed to be the final arbiter again this year. Damian's stories have appeared in more than 50 literary journals and anthologies, including W.W. Norton’s New Microfailbetter.com, New Orleans Review, Cutbank, and New World Writing. He has won the Harriette Arnow Award and the Jesse Stuart Prize and was a finalist for the 2019 Katherine Anne Porter Prize. Damian holds a PhD in creative writing from the Center for Writers at the University of Southern Mississippi.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2021 by Ligonier Valley Writers